2015 Reading Challenges

Every new year, I often look for, but often fail to participate in, Reading Challenges.  This year, I am participating in two Reading Challenges: Diversity on the Shelf 2015  and The Unconventional Librarian’s 2015 Diversity Reading Challenge.  Both challenges support the need to read diverse books in a variety of ways.

Check back to see which books I have read for both challenges!

I have finally begun to read for the Reading Challenges!  The books I have read so far:

Bayou Magic, Jewell Parker Rhodes

Stella by Starlight, Sharon Draper

Chasing Freedom, Nikki Grimes, illustrated by Michele Wood

Last Stop on Market Street by Matt De La Pena, illustrated by Christian Robinson

Gone Crazy in Alabama, Rita Garcia-Williams

According to the Diversity on the Shelf 2015, I have finished my first shelf! Yes!

I have also read some books that meet the Unconventional Librarian’s 2015 Diversity Reading Challenge:

1.  A book written by an author of color: Gone Crazy in Alabama and Stella by Starlight

2. A book with a person of color on the cover: Gone Crazy in Alabama

4. A book in which the main character or a strong secondary character has a disability: The War That Saved My Life by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley

6. A non-fiction or biography about someone of diverse background: Chasing Freedom by Nikki Grimes

7.  A book with an illustrator of color: Chasing Freedom, illustrated by Michele Wood

5 thoughts on “2015 Reading Challenges

  1. Camille Mitchell

    Karen, Happy New Year! I do recall when I was attending your African American Book Club approximately Spring of 2000; we read and discussed a book about a community in either Virginia or Maryland (Prince George County?) that started to really integrate their neighborhoods with more African Americans in their neighborhood and political system. In particular their was a Jewish couple that were one of the main advocates for diversity. It was written by a white social scientist. One of the reasons I wanted to have the book club read it was because I wanted to know what and how positive changes were implemented in society. Do you recall that book?

  2. Love the effort and this year I think you will hit your goal!! Thanks for joining Diversity on the Shelf 2015. Check back for the first giveaway of four this year.

Leave a Reply

