freaks & geeks at the Harlem Book Fair

Fledgling

indexWe lost a giant in the field of children’s literature. Walter Dean Myers passed away yesterday, shocking and saddening everyone in the kidlit community. I doubt I will publish over fifty books for kids in my lifetime but I do hope to leave behind a legacy of service to the community that is as meaningful as Mr. Myers’. It’s been ten years since my own father passed away and I still think about him almost every day. My thoughts and prayers are with the Myers family. I will certainly urge my BookUP kids to select Monster for one of our summer reads.

When I return from Senegal I’ll have a few days to prepare for this fantastic panel at the 2014 Harlem Book Fair. The research I’m doing here in Dakar is for The Return, Book 3 in my “freaks & geeks” trilogy. But many of us (including…

View original post 192 more words

Leave a Reply

