Latin@s in Kid Lit

Fledgling

munecas_front_covercorrectedIndie authors often find doors are closed to them so I’m very thankful that Cindy Rodriguez and her team of Latina authors over at Latin@s in Kid Litlet me have my say on their blog. Here’s a bit of what I wrote about immigration, intersectionality, and my decision to self-publish Max Loves Muñecas!

Immigration is a charged issue here, and though Canadians aren’t generally mentioned in the national debate, there’s still a pretty good chance I could run into trouble in Arizona. As a mixed-race woman of African descent, I often get read as Latina. Here, in New York City, I walk with my driver’s license, my passport, and my green card at all times because my Afro-Caribbean father taught me that some protections are reserved for citizens only (and only those citizens who aren’t brown like me). My father also urged me not to get involved…

View original post 274 more words

Leave a Reply

